Book Tags/Challenges

Stranger Things Book Tag

Hello there!

Today I am sharing with you my attempt at the “Stranger Things Book tag.” I was inspired to join in on this tag after seeing it over on Vivian’s blog @inkedinpages. I loveeee Stranger Things. It was one of those shows that I had no idea what it was about, but had heard EVERYONE talking about and had to see what the fuss was about…and my gosh was it good! I don’t think I’ve ever binge watched a show so quickly! So continue reading for my answers to this fun tag! (All titles are linked to their Goodreads page if you’d like further info on the books).

  1. THE VANISHING OF WILL BYERS

The first book in a series that left you intrigued and slightly confused.

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

11408650
This book was so flipping creepy but intriguing and it definitely had me intrigued…so much so that the very next day I went out on the hunt for the second and third book in the series. If you haven’t read these books I highly recommend them!

 

 

 

 

 

2. THE UPSIDE DOWN

A book with a setting you would never want to live in

Matched series by Ally Condie

7735333
The dystopian and tightly-controlled society of this book does not sound like a nice place to live at all in which young people are “matched” with the life partners at the mere age of seventeen.

 

 

 

 

 

3. ELEVEN

A book you own that is somewhat damaged, but loved to pieces

Looking For Alibrandi by Melina Marchetta

1379697
This book has been through a lot. It was the very first young adult novel I read and man did I read this book multiple times and not only that, but I took this book everywhere with me. It also fell victim to my naughty golden retriever who had a chew on the corner of the front cover…I was not impressed, but thats what you get when you leave your valuables out for the dog to inspect haha.

 

 

 

4. MIKE, LUCAS AND DUSTIN

A trilogy you always go to whenever you need a pick me up

Storm Elementals book #1, Brigid Kemmerer

20410663Okay this is a series, but I find the Elementals series by Brigid Kemmerer to be such a good read when I’m in need of a pick me up…I mean four hot brothers all with control over the elements AND kick ass female characters…whats not to love about that premise?

 

 

 

 

5. THE DEMOGORGON

A book with a terrifying beast you wouldn’t want to face in a dark alley

Queen of Shadows book #4 Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas

18006496
Hands down the Valg Princes those guys and their manipulation over their hosts is terrifying! Oh and pretty much any of the demons in the Throne of Glass series…I would get serious goosebumps reading about those hideous  creatures, especially the skin walkers *que shuddering*.

 

 

 

 

22489107

6. DR BRENNER

A book series with a villain who is both manipulative and dedicated

Fairest, Marissa Meyer

Queen Levana from the Lunar Chronicles…that woman was pure evil! She was such a good villain though and I loved the insight we were given in Fairest, about how she became the manipulative and evil character we came to loath in The Lunar Chronicles.

 

7. NANCY WHEELER

A book you didn’t expect to love

Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas
16034235
I LOVE THIS SERIES SO DAMN MUCH IT HAS CONSUMED MY EVERY WAKING THOUGHT! I do not have enough praise in the world for this series! After hearing people rave about them for so long, I finally decided to pick up the first book and buddy read it with a friend over the Summer break and by the end of ToG, I was kicking myself ofr not reading it sooner and then proceeded to go and purchase the entire series over the course of the week. I binge read the series HARD and am now currently about a quarter of the way through Empire of Storms and I just don’t want the book to end! This series is just so well thought out and the character and world building over the course of the series is absolutely phenomenal…with every book I fell in love more and more with the series. I 100% recommend this series if you haven’t read it.

8. HAWKINS, INDIANA

A book with a setting that’s just a little bit strange

The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold

6522978

Those who have read this book understand what I am referring to. Sebold has a a unique writing style in this book in which she combines first person and omniscient to explore and tell the story and not only that but Suzie’s personal heaven from which she watches her family from, is described as a place in which “we had been given, in our heavens, our simplest dreams.” Desires also given and a councillor is even present. Then theres the wide wide heaven, which is more of a cosmic design, and she can tranistion to once she lets go of her worries and past.

 
So there we go, that was the “Stranger Things Book Tag”. This was such a fun tag to do and I tag anyone who wants to attempt it!

“Mornings are for coffee and contemplation.” – Jim Hoppers, Stranger Things

Until next time, happy reading!

screen-shot-2017-01-08-at-6-22-31-pm

 

3 thoughts on “Stranger Things Book Tag

Leave a Reply

